pasobeast.blogg.se

Killer instinct arcade pcb sound boot but no game
Killer instinct arcade pcb sound boot but no game












killer instinct arcade pcb sound boot but no game

Parts I used (maybe not exact models, but look the same): The adapter worked fine with 2GB and 8GB cards that I had laying around. Then it was just a matter of imaging the KI and KI2 images to SD cards. I also had a Micro SD to CF adapter, but it's a Type I adapter with the socket out the side, which is flush with the CF socket (so the SD switch couldn't stick out). I manually toggle the SD switch, though you could add your own common control line between the SD switch and the EPROM A19s (need to check I/O voltages though).įor the SD to CF adapter, I used the CF Type II adapter with a Micro SD adapter, since it's taller and lets the switch stick out over the top of the CF socket.

killer instinct arcade pcb sound boot but no game

2-way SD card switches are readily available, while multi CF boards just have both CFs set up in a master/slave configuration, which isn't what we want (why I built the custom switch for the Viper). Since I had some SD to CF adapter parts leftover from the Viper experimentation, I tried it on the KI board, and it did work. The Viper was a bit more complicated, because it wouldn't work with SD to CF adapters (I think it ran in Memory mode instead of IDE mode). The HD can be run from CF w/ a CF to 44 pin IDE adapter, and I knew switching CFs was possible from my old Multi Konami Viper project ( ). Switched to 4MB pulls the EPROM A19 high (KI2 in my case), switched to 8MB switches it (presumably) to an actual address on the CPU, which seems to always be low (KI) - if making a real kit, I'd suggest actually switching it low instead of using the address though. I burned both "Any IDE" images to a 27C080, and used the 4MB/8MB jumper to switch between them.

killer instinct arcade pcb sound boot but no game

The ROMs are 27C040s, which can easily be doubled to 27C080s and have their upper address switched. This makes a fairly straight-forward multi.

killer instinct arcade pcb sound boot but no game

That told me that I could swap KI/KI2 by just swapping the HD, boot ROM, and sound ROMs. So, I decided to try running KI (original) with the KI2 conversion PCB installed, and as I somewhat expected, it worked! Presumably, KI just doesn't talk to the conversion PCB, so it just sits there idle.

KILLER INSTINCT ARCADE PCB SOUND BOOT BUT NO GAME PLUS

The CPLD only has a subset of the entire IDE interface connected to it (8 data lines plus some control lines). So, I suspected (and still suspect) that the CPLD is just an auxiliary device on the IDE bus that responds to a certain set of commands that the IDE drive itself doesn't (or maybe at a different address, or slave instead of master, etc). I remembered when I mapped out the conversion board, other than having a CPLD on it, it appeared to just pass the IDE signals through. Turns out it was also dead (lifted CPU pins), but once I resoldered the CPU, and married the conversion PCB to it, everything worked (including the original 420MB Seagate KI2 HD in its plastic shell). Then I lost interest, and never dug out the KI2 PCB to mate it to.įast forward (again) to this week - I was digging through some boards, and came across my KI2 PCB. I grabbed it, and of course was curious how it worked. Fast forward to 3 years ago, someone was selling a conversion HD interface PCB. So I planned to deconvert it to KI, but shortly afterward found a (dedicated) KI2 PCB, and this board got buried in my PCB stash. I noticed that it was a conversion, but was missing the conversion HD interface PCB. I got this KI2 PCB probably 15 or so years ago, but it didn't work.














Killer instinct arcade pcb sound boot but no game